Trip or Treat ? #2 – Treats

I’m married to a family where some of our cousins are psychos, foodies…in short I do fit very well here. It’s a nightmare for our parents to see all of us together. So they do tug in early even before our night starts. These cousins always irritate me, make fun of my cooking ( may be because they are the ones who suffers my experiments) but we all love food, they only like eating though. Now now.. I’ve been cooking for them since I’m married here and in the past few years they made some demands and me successfully prepared whatever they had asked. List is a long one, but I’m presenting things I’ve cooked for the first time.

Sweet Corn and Capsicum Pizza

dsc_0106
Ready to go in the oven

We all love pizza, husband always jokes I only crave for eatables which can not be prepared by me. To some extent its true. Loved pizza like anything till I learnt making it. Now thers only like left no love. My little cousins love this thing. So for the first time I made and guess what it turned out good. As vegetarians My recipe had only a few ingredients mainly bell peppers, sweet corn and onions + lots of cheese.

prep time : 1 hr

difficulty : medium

Pre heat oven at 200 degree C, make dough with all purpose flour, curd, yeast, salt and olive oil, set it aside till it become double in size. Take a pizza pan roll out the dough in it and dump in the oven for 10 mins. Remove from pan, reduce the temperature to 180 degree C. Make the red sauce using tomatoes, garlic, salt, green chilly and butter. Then spread it all over the bread, make white sauce with Milk, butter, cheese, all purpose flour, black pepper corns and spread some on top of the red sauce. Dump onions, bell peppers and sweet corns then pour the remaining white sauce all over it . Add whatever cheese you have with you and bake at 180 for 30 mins and you are done.

dsc_0109
Ready to eat

Peanut Butter Cupcake

img-20140802-wa0011
Yummilicious

Guess this is the first recipe everybody makes when learning to bake. All you have to do is, measure every ingredients correctly, mix them all together, pour into molds, bake till the time required. Have it with tea or coffee.

prep time : 40 mins

Difficulty : Easy

Pre heat oven at 180 degree C, mix plain flour, butter, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla extract, baking powder, some milk  and the main ingredient the crunchy peanut butter. Then spoon them into paper cup cakes ( I made them in muffin tins for the first time). Let it bake for about 20- 30 mins. Either ice it or eat it like that. It really tastes yum.

Bhelpuri

img-20141102-wa0008
Sweet and tangy bhel

Bhelpuri is an Indian snack or chat, basically from North India I believe. Its a combination of sweet and savory, with puffed rice, vegetables and tamarind sauce. I’m not a great fan of this chat, but others like it and I tried my hand in it too.

Prep time : 15 mins

Difficulty : Easy

All you have to do is, buy some puffed rice, use onions, tomatoes, green chillie, some fried sev made of chick pea flour, tamarind sauce, green chilly sauce,some peanuts then dump all these into a bowl mix it well, serve just like that. If you don’t mind using coriander leaves garnish it with too. And done.

Please do try and share your opinions : -)

Leave a Reply

