Xmas Accidental – Bundt Cake

We celebrated Christmas by making a DIY star and a cake as my nephew reached home day before yesterday. He is a good kid very energetic but very demanding about food, was asking what Am I going to make each day for him ? He is mad for Chocolate mousse, pastry and cake. His main demands were make chapathi and Gobi manchurian (Cauliflower)/ paneer butter masala (cottage cheese)/ aloo mutter ( potato and green peas) curries and Samosa chat. Thank God for making me like him,Hungry for special treats. Well first thing we made last day was a chocolate bundt cake, a disaster turned out to be excellent ;-D.

I started by preheating my oven at 180 degree celsius, then grabbed an 8 inch cake pan. weighed all my ingredients mixed them all together and dumped in the oven for about 30 mins. Everything was turning out nicely when I checked my cake it turned out great but it was firm on the outer side but gooey in the middle. It tasted great  then suddenly my nephew was on the scene and he started saying I don’t need a gooey cake I want a real chocolate cake. I used all my batter in one pot and there was no time to make another one. Then I carved out the gooey part and made a brownie with that. My cake started to look like a bundt and I decided to frost it like that. Using butter, icing sugar and Cadbury silk Chocolate (grated) made the icing arranged cherries on top and a good tasty bundt cake was ready to serve.

And the recipe goes thus

  • All purpose flour- 1 3/4 cup
  • Cocoa powder – 3/4 cup
  • Granulated sugar- 2 cup
  • Eggs – 2
  • Baking powder – 1 1/2 tsp
  • Baking soda- 1 1/2 tsp
  • salt – 1/2 tsp
  • Vanilla essence- 1 tsp
  • Milk- 1 cup
  • coffee (light)- 1 cup
  • sunflower oil- 1/2 cup

For icing

Butter 100 gm, Icing sugar – 150 gm, sweet chocolate 25-50 gm. 

mix the dry and wet ingredients separately and add the wet mixture to the dry mixture, it will be a runny batter and that’s what you are looking for. Preheat the oven at 180 degree celsius and bake for about 40 mins.

Every oven is different so please don’t forget to check your cake after 30 mins.

Lessons learnt : Bake the chocolate batter  around 35-40 mins.

Accidents can happen even when you have become an expert

You can always make something tasty  from things you want to throw out after cooking.

Leave a Reply

